+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Float Tank

Float Tank

Hi All,
    I have no experience with fiberglass. I have been researching how to work with it. I am making a float tank. A float tank is for relaxation and meditation. It has 10 inches (25cm) of water heated to skin temperature 93.5 - 94.5 F (34.2 - 34.7 C) and 800 - 1000 lbs (363 - 454 kg) of epsom salt, so that floating is effortless. It's going to be 8' x 5' 6" x 7' high (2.4 m x 1.7 m x 2.1 m high). I'm planning to make a box by framing the walls, floor and roof with 2x6 (5x15 cm) lumber, attaching OSB (chipboard plywood) on the inside of the framing, applying mold release agent to the inside, and then fiberglassing the inside. I heard that fiberglass does not like 90 degree angles, it's weaker. Is that true? I ripped some 2x2 (5x5 cm) lumber diagonally that I will put in the corners so the corners will be a little rounded. Will that make the tank stronger? For the ceiling, can I apply resin overhead? Will the resin soak into the mat? Oh by the way I plan to use 2 layers of 1.5 oz chop strand mat (I'm not sure how to convert that to metric, but I think its equivalent to 450 gm csm) and isophthalic polyester resin. Will that be strong enough for me to take the mold off and move the empty tank without cracking or breaking it? I will need to have one hole in each end of the tank to add the plumbing for the filtration system. Is it better to perhaps cut the hole in my mold, apply release agent to the pvc pipe, and then cast the fiberglass around it, or just cut the hole through the fiberglass later? Can I use carnuba car wax as a release agent? If I put wax on the mold would that wax get into the resin and cause it to have a hard, non-tacky finish? I don't want that because I want to add a second layer of mat, and two coats of gelcoat. The final coat of gelcoat would have the wax additive. Are two coats of gelcoat sufficient?