+ Reply to Thread

Thread: body filler for styrofoam

body filler for styrofoam

I'm very new in fiberglass and molding, so the question below is to start some self-training before going to build big fiberglass parts for a kitcar.

My idea is to start with a styrofoam plug to take the molds from it. As I'm modelling it and sanding the model (plug), I will need to fill up gaps, imperfections and mistakes with polyester-free body filler, and I heard automotive body fillers are the wrong way to go. Is that right? Any alternative?

So then I could use latex painting on the finished plug (well coated in thin layers, sanded in between, etc) to protect from polyester resin when laying the fabric. Would that work?

Thanks,

Marcio.

You are correct that anything polyester will melt Styrofoam. You can use epoxy based fillers and coat the plug with epoxy too, this will provide a good coating to take a polyester mould off (ensure epoxy is fully cured before using and don't forget release agents, obv.). So, sticking with the Styrofoam I would suggest a tin of either Petram or west system epoxy resin. Use some 409 or 407 filler to turn some of the epoxy into a bodyfiller. Use the remaining epoxy as a 'varnish' to protect the sytrofoam from the polyester solvents.

Alternately, ditch the Styrofoam and use a polyurethane based foam like this or kingspan or celotex building insulation. They are fine with all resin types.
    Last edited by Alex; 27-04-2016 at 08:58. Reason: head not screwed in correctly