+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Product Advice

Product Advice

Hi there,

Am new to fibreglassing but found your website via all the forum recommendations, you guys certainly have a good rep.

I'm about to start my first little project and would like some recommendations if possible on what i need to buy from you, maybe you could put together a shopping list for me to buy from you.

This is a picture of my subwoofer in the car,

as you hopefully agree, it looks great in the photo's but up close the paint isn't great and you can see brush marks etc, it's made out of MDF.

I've now removed the sub box from the car, taken it apart and sanded it all down, I am now wanting to go over the inside of the box (the bit you can see in the photo) with fibreglass to give it a nice smooth look and so that I can paint it with spray paint to get a nice glossy, smooth finish.

As mentioned i'm pretty new to fibreglassing, although i've seen it done quite a lot i'm not 100% sure of the best stuff to use to in terms of sheeting/matting and resin, I am obviously sticking it to the MDF so I'm not sure if I need to apply some coats of resin to the MDF first for it to soak in and if so if I need a particular type (i.e Poly or Epoxy).
    I would also need brushes, roller and applicators or anything else you might think I will need.

Thanks for your help

James

So make sure ALL the existing paint is removed. I don't think that putting fibreglass on this is going to help, for cosmetics it'll probably be worse as it will be lumpy. For me, and keeping those lovely sharp lines, I would seal all this MDF with 2 or 3 coats of G4 sealer. This is a polyurethane resin coating that will plasticise the MDF, put it on quite generously and let it flow. Once cured sand down and car spray + laquer.

HI Alex